Willow Monastic Academy Forum

Willow's Branches (lineage and connections)

This topic is one I find super interesting. I had NO idea just how closely tied Willow and MAPLE were to Shinzen Young, a pretty big name in the field of meditation. Turns out what the Monastic Academy offers are teachings based in Shinzen Young’s ‘Unified Mindfulness’ system. I have a feeling this would be fruitful and interesting to dive into. I know Seishin and other MAPLE residents know more than I – curious to learn more about this and about the Rinzai Zen tradition :slight_smile:

Hey James! yeah it’s definitely interesting to me to see how the different systems of meditation interact. Especially these days when so much is available online.

So i’ve been using Shinzen’s system, Unified Mindfulness, for about 3 years now, delving pretty deep into it, and recently trained as a UM coach.

This may all be old news, but this is how i see the basics of the system: It is unified in the sense that it offers a secular synthesis of most major contemplative practices—ancient and modern, eastern and western—that is compatible with science.

Over many years of ongoing experimentation (much of which took place at the various MAPLE iterations), Shinzen organized these many practices into four quadrants: Appreciate (Self and World), Transcend (Self & World), Nurture Positive (Self & World), and Express (Self & World)—which are more or less applicable in different circumstances, or for different goals, etc.